Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Skins | Language
The Quilt and Needle Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: There is a purpose for every fabric and a fabric for every purpose. -- Cindy Prince
- (Added by: Jess)

Picnic Blanket
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Quilters with Questions or Tips -> QuiltingMessage format

PJ15
Posted 2012-07-17 5:31 AM (#69805)
Subject: Picnic Blanket

New user

Hello Everyone

This is my first time posting on the forum. I love to sew clothes and decided a few months back to save up all my scraps and make a picnic blanket with a basic square quilt on the front and a plain back. I've now put the squares together (I'm pretty happy for a first attempt).

I'm very lucky living in Birmingham as we have some wonderful fabric stalls in the city's market and I plan to buy some plain cotton for the back.

As someone who has never quilted before I have no idea what kind of batting/wadding I need for the blanket? I don't understand what difference the weight in ozs makes as they all seem to long around the same thickness?

Can someone kindly advise me please

Thank you

Penny
Top of the page Bottom of the page
SallyC
Posted 2012-07-17 9:47 AM (#69810 - in reply to #69805)
Subject: Re: Picnic Blanket

Expert

Hi Penny, welcome. This is a great forum. Birmingham, in Alabama or in England? (since we don't say 'wadding' over here, I'm wondering if you're in UK?)
Batting--well I use Warm and Natural or Warm and White (100% cotton) most of the time but some times I use Hobbs 80/20 Heirloom Premium (80% cotton/20% poly). (Depends on what's on sale at JoAnns or even WalMart!--or Connecting Threads forthat matter!)